revdorothyl: missmurchsion made this (HellBound)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
I hate to say it, but I'm feeling more than a little ripped-off by last night's episode, after the build-up in last week's previews.

No offense to the cast, who did the best they could with what they were given, I'm sure, but I found Booth's sudden 'resurrection' at the gravesite in the opening minutes of the show so unconvincing that for the first 30 minutes I actually entertained the idea that this whole, far-fetched scenario was something Booth was dreaming up under anesthetic while his wound was being operated on, or something.

I don't know what it says about my mind or about my perception of Booth's character that I would suspect him of somehow dreaming up a sequence in which (with almost no visible trace of the bullet wound he supposedly suffered only two weeks previously) he's naked in the bathtub, wearing a beer-hat and reading a 'graphic novel' when Dr. Brennan walks in on him.

Yes, I know the "it was all a dream" excuse is just about the oldest and lamest cliche there is, but such was my sense of unreality during last night's episode that I actually found that option to be the lesser of two evils, preferable to thinking that the writers actually expected me to take all this guff as canon.

By the halfway mark in the show, I accepted that not even the most inept writer would ask me to believe that Booth could have dreamed up some of the conversations taking place between other characters.

And while casting sweet, socially inept Zack Addy as Gormogon's latest apprentice might have been intriguing under other circumstances, the fact that this episode started out with such a cheap bait-and-switch trick over Booth's supposed death left such a bad taste in my mouth that I couldn't take anything that followed seriously.

I feel like last night's episode did to me what Sweets did to Bones in willfully withholding the information that Booth was still alive in order to conduct an unauthorized and unethical experiment on her: I feel like I've been manipulated and used by someone so convinced of their own cleverness that it never occurs to them that their behavior merits a severe beat-down.

Earlier this season (and especially after episodes like the one where Booth and Bones 'double-dated' with Sweets and his girlfriend), I'd felt pretty okay about the idea of Dr. Sweets becoming a more regular part of the ensemble, as someone who provided a 'fair target' for Bones and Booth to close ranks against or to tease unmercifully, since he wasn't exactly defenseless in return. He made a fairly likable foil for Booth and Bones to sharpen their wits upon, I thought, as well as providing an otherwise-under-represented (since the departure of Dr. Goodman as the story-telling archaeologist/administrator after season 1) psychological perspective that could come in handy when dealing with certain personalities.

But if he's meant to replace Zack as the sweet, baby-faced-but-brilliant regular component of the cast, then the writers have certainly gone about it in the worst possible way: they've given me (as well as Dr. Brennan) ample reason to consider Sweets thoroughly unlikable and untrustworthy, now, and as less emotionally mature than Zack (in spite of Zack having confessed to a cold-blooded murder -- because it seems that at least Zack would never be so abusive or uncaring towards someone he KNEW, as witnessed by his self-sacrifice to keep Hodgins from being killed).

Maybe my expectations for this latest episode were simply way off-base, and maybe that's making me think it was worse or more manipulative than it was. But I am not a happy camper.
There are 11 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] appomattoxco.livejournal.com at 04:12pm on 20/05/2008
If yours were off base, you weren't alone. I felt like I just got done reading a novel that switched [unsuccessfully] from horror to comedy and back again. At the end it become a mystery where the butler did without leaving clues.
 
posted by [identity profile] x-h00ine.livejournal.com at 04:47pm on 20/05/2008
Amen. The ZK and I spent the whole episode saying to one another, "Oh, man, this is annoying. This is SUCH a transparent 'Owl Creek Bridge' thing."

The Rev. is right on about the dialogue. It was so egregiously technobabbly and stilted that it seemed it HAD to be "What Boot Hears When Squints Talk." And the emotional whiplash? Don't get me started.

I don't know what it says about my mind or about my perception of Booth's character that I would suspect him of somehow dreaming up a sequence in which (with almost no visible trace of the bullet wound he supposedly suffered only two weeks previously) he's naked in the bathtub, wearing a beer-hat and reading a 'graphic novel' when Dr. Brennan walks in on him.

Ha! This reminds me of the Angel episode that IS all a dream. I hated that episode with the white-hot passion of 1000 suns, precisely because of what it DID tell us about how little Angel thinks of the people in his life. Ugh! (But I totally bought that Booth sees HIMSELF as wearing a metaphorical beer hat and carrying around a metaphorical comic book in comparison to the lab folks.)

Anyway, I'm pissed. I understand that they lost a lot of time to the writers' strike, but in that case, they should not have tried to do something like this in such a limited time frame. It not only squandered a lot of critical character stuff from last week (after all, in addition to Booth's magical, disappearing bullet wound, we saw BONES shoot and presumably kill a woman), but also did damage to all the characterizations that I think will stretch far into the future. I mean, seriously, Angela finds out that Zach is a killer and her question is, "Did he eat anyone?" Really? It's all good with Angela so long as there was no freaking cannibalism?

OY! Very very annoyed, am I.
 
posted by [identity profile] revdorothyl.livejournal.com at 04:58pm on 20/05/2008
I'm so glad I wasn't the only one P.O.'d by the bait-and-switch of last night's ep, and the CHEAPNESS (in the negative sense, having nothing to do with lack of funds or frugality, but only with unwillingness to expend any resources for anyone's sake but your own)that seemed to ooze out of every pore of the storytelling in this episode.

Your analysis of the bath-tub scene made more sense than anything in last night's episode: (But I totally bought that Booth sees HIMSELF as wearing a metaphorical beer hat and carrying around a metaphorical comic book in comparison to the lab folks.)

I haven't been so disgusted with an episode of television since the so-called last episode of Enterprise (which crapped all over everyone and everything in the show, and all the growth the characters had gone through in their time together over the previous 4 years).
 
posted by [identity profile] appomattoxco.livejournal.com at 05:40pm on 20/05/2008
I think "Restless" is the only good dream episode to ever air on TV but yeah, this should be all dream it's so OOC.
 
Thanks for reassuring me that I wasn't the only one feeling massively cheated.

Everything and everybody seemed to be treated as expendable, something to be simply thrown away like used tissues, including the whole Gormogon story arc (which I never cared for much, anyway), with 'The Master' turning out to be "Nobody" -- but somehow, this nonentity was a stronger personality than Zach Addy, with his heretofore unshakeable ethics and professional scruples (not to mention his large, loving family in Minnesota, where his mother still thinks he's a Lutheran for holiday purposes)?

Aaarggghhh!
 
Yes. And I find it upsetting that the writers seem to be pushing this idea that rational intelligent people are more apt to commit murder. Zach would've seen the consequences of his actions. He's not a narcissist killing that guy would have to be worth getting caught for [from his pov] They needed to SHOW THAT! If they had taken their time given it the weight and back-story needed, maybe it could've been good.
 
That's another thing. Aside from feeling very very cheated from a content perspective, from a mechanical perspective, this episode was so poorly done that I literally did not know what I was supposed to be taking away from certain scenes. The most glaring example of that being Zach's immediate giving up of "The Master" when Bones points out the flaw in his logic. It's not like I'm a stranger to philosophy and rhetorical examinations of ethics and morality, but the dialogue was so badly done, and the scene was so rushed through that I really almost thought that I was supposed to believe that Zach had somehow been doing the lone-gun superhero thing and infiltrating Gormogon's . . . whatever . . . to bring him down.
 
I really almost thought that I was supposed to believe that Zach had somehow been doing the lone-gun superhero thing and infiltrating Gormogon's . . . whatever . . . to bring him down

Now THAT would've been interesting, and in keeping with Zach's hidden talents and resolve, given that we had NO groundwork laid for him being such an easy mark for a psycho mentor.
 
posted by [identity profile] jwaneeta.livejournal.com at 05:43pm on 20/05/2008
No offense to the cast, who did the best they could with what they were given, I'm sure, but I found Booth's sudden 'resurrection' at the gravesite in the opening minutes of the show so unconvincing that for the first 30 minutes I actually entertained the idea that this whole, far-fetched scenario was something Booth was dreaming up under anesthetic while his wound was being operated on, or something.

I'm only a casual viewer, but I caught last week's ep and cried, "Fool that I am! How can I not be a fan!" and watched it two more times online.

Then I watched this week's ep -- finale? Seriously? -- and couldn't make sense of the tone at all. Kinda back to being a casual viewer now, I think.
 
posted by [identity profile] revdorothyl.livejournal.com at 08:54pm on 20/05/2008
Yep, they seriously screwed the pooch on this one, turning off a lot of long-time and prospective new viewers.

This episode reminded me of the so-called final episode of Enterprise, which crapped all over every character development and storyline that we had followed over the years and treated the whole thing as a trivial, throwaway bauble.

Last night was NOT typical of the series in the past, but I'm re-thinking my own commitment to the series, after this, since I don't care for such abusive treatment of me, my intelligence, or the characters on the show.
ext_2333: "That's right,  people, I am a constant surprise." (Default)
posted by [identity profile] makd.livejournal.com at 10:42pm on 20/05/2008
I blame the strike and the desire on the part of Fox's suits to put an end to the gormagon arc and to dispose of a character that THEY believed to be less useful demographically, than the pretty, pretty Sweets.

IMO, Hanson is taking the hit for a decision made at a higher level.

In the meantime, I hope that the show makes it through the fourth season into the fifth. I'll be there, but I think they lost about 1/4-1/3 of their viewers last night. The boards and the blogs have been going CRAZY with complaints.

October

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17 18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31